第二天 在上海惠灵顿外籍人员子女学校讨论教育的未来

第二天  在上海惠灵顿外籍人员子女学校讨论教育的未来

既节日第一天的成功之后,出席者在周六一大早就起床,还有很多富有创新性和思想启发性的讲座让大家满怀期待。在众多其他演讲者中,英国惠灵顿公学副校长 Iain Henderson探讨了一种释放学生潜力的教练式教学方法。赫赫有名、多才多艺的艺术家兼演讲家Paul Dale-Vickers先生围绕表演艺术教育展开讨论,展示如何将其置于学习的核心位置。在次日上午的会议中,著名的教育家Ian Warwick着眼于激发年轻人好奇心的方法,而粒子物理学家Jeffrey Forshaw则讨论了我们的宇宙的令人惊叹的运行原理。

上午晚些时候,乒乓球世界冠军和奥林匹克冠军,现任人民日报社副秘书长的邓亚萍博士发表了题为‘通过教育和体育培养韧性和个性’的主题演讲。接下来她又与上海惠灵顿外籍人员子女学校员工成员Carlton Palmer先生, Alex Lloyd先生以及Michael Larsen-Disney先生就体育在教育中的重要性展开了小组讨论,探讨了包括“学生是否应该在学校和体育中树立竞争意识?”等多个问题。

在小组讨论中,教育节总监和演讲嘉宾Roger Lewis先生, Paul Dale-Vickers先生以及Ian Warwick先生探讨了诸如学校在100年后是否还会存在等问题。在这之后,我们邀请Eleanor Prescott和David Cook上台致闭幕词,感谢在过去48小时里所有观众和与会者来上海惠灵顿外籍人员子女学校参加讨论!

Copyright © 2018 Wellington College China. All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备16027332号-2
联网备案号:231011502008299

Debating the Future of Education at Wellington College – Day 2

Debating the Future of Education at Wellington College – Day 2

Following the success of the first day of the Festival, festival goers woke up early on a Saturday morning to be delighted with many more innovative and thought provoking sessions. Among many other speakers, Iain Henderson, Assistant Head at Wellington College UK, explored the power of a coaching approach to unlock potential in pupils. Paul Dale-Vickers, a celebrated and multi-talented artist and lecturer, discussed performing arts education placing it at the heart of learning. During the second morning session, Ian Warwick, renowned educator, looked at ways to stimulate curiosity in young people and Jeffrey Forshaw, a particle physicist, talked about the amazing workings of our universe.

Later in the morning, Dr. Deng Yaping, Table Tennis World and Olympic Champion and currently the Deputy Secretary General of People’s Daily, gave a keynote speech entitled ‘Building Resilience and Character through Education and Sport’.  It was followed by a compelling panel discussion on the importance of sport in education with Wellington staff members – Mr Carlton Palmer, Mr Alex Lloyd, and Mr Michael Larsen-Disney debating many questions including “Should pupils be competitive in school and in sport?”.

A panel discussion between the Festival Director and guest speakers Roger Lewis, Paul Dale-Vickers and Ian Warwick discussed among other the question if schools will still exist in 100 years. Following this, we welcomed on the stage Eleanor Prescott and David Cook for their closing remarks thanking the audience and all festival goers on joining the debate at Wellington during the past 48 hours!

Copyright © 2018 Wellington College China. All Rights Reserved. 沪ICP备16027332号-2
联网备案号:231011502008299